UCS Board elects new officers for 2017
UCS Board elects new officers for 2017
Posted on 01/11/2017
The district's logo

Four experienced Utica Community Schools Board of Education members were elected by their colleagues as officers at the January 9 organizational meeting.

The Board elected Gene Klida as president, Michele Templeton as vice president and Jennifer Prybys as secretary, and re-elected Dr. Robert Ross as treasurer for 2017.

Klida, who has served as the Board’s vice president since 2007, will preside over regular and special meetings and provide leadership duties as required by the office.

“I am extremely honored to be serving this community as its Board of Education president,” Klida said. “Our Board members are committed to working together to move the district’s vision and mission forward and ensure our students are well prepared for post-secondary success.”

The board unanimously approved the election.

“Mrs. Klida will provide the stable leadership necessary to ensure our Board is focused on all students,” Dr. Ross said.

A Shelby Township resident, Klida has served on the Board of Education since 1998, and has two children who have graduated from the district. She replaces Dr. Carol Klenow, who did not seek reelection this year to the Board and had served as president for the past 21 years.

Templeton will serve as the Board’s vice president. A 12-year member of the Board, Templeton is a lifelong resident of Utica Community Schools whose daughter also graduated from the district.

Dr. Ross was reappointed as treasurer, an officer position he has held since 2011. As treasurer, Dr. Ross serves as the Board’s fiduciary representative. A resident of Sterling Heights, he has served on the Board of Education since 2004 and has four children who are graduates of the district.

Prybys, a 10-year member, will serve as the Board’s secretary. A Sterling Heights resident, she has two children who have graduated from Utica Community Schools.

In addition to the organizational meeting, two Board of Education members took the oath of office for their recently-elected six-year terms.

Dr. Ross and Trustee Denyeal Nesovski were elected to their terms by UCS voters in the November general election.