Board conducts annual organizational meeting, elects 2018 officers in UCS
Board conducts annual organizational meeting, elects 2018 officers in UCS
Posted on 01/10/2018
Seven individuals in formal dress - four seated and thee standing

Four experienced Utica Community Schools Board of Education members were re-elected by their colleagues as officers at the January 8 organizational meeting.

The Board re-elected Gene Klida as president, Michele Templeton as vice president, Jennifer Prybys as secretary, and Dr. Robert Ross as treasurer for 2018.

Klida, unanimously elected to her second term as president, will preside over regular and special meetings and provide leadership duties as required by the office.
“Utica Community Schools is fortunate to have the strong leadership of Mrs. Klida to move our district forward by building on our legacy of educational excellence,” said Board of Education vice president Michele Templeton. “She is a tireless advocate for all UCS students who remains focused on meeting and exceeding the high expectations our community has for its schools.”
A Shelby Township resident, Klida has served on the Board of Education since 1998, and has two adult sons who have graduated from the district.  

Templeton will serve as the Board’s vice president. A 13-year member of the Board, Templeton is a lifelong resident and graduate of Utica Community Schools whose daughter graduated from the district.

Dr. Ross was re-elected as treasurer, an officer position he has held since 2011. As treasurer, Dr. Ross serves as the Board’s fiduciary representative. A resident of Sterling Heights, he has served on the Board of Education since 2004 and has four children who are graduates of the district.

Prybys, an 11-year member, will serve as the Board’s secretary. A Sterling Heights resident, she has two children who have recently graduated from Utica Community Schools.

Trustees for 2018 are Ken Krolczyk, Dr. Mary K. Thomas and Denyeal Nesovski.

Cutline: The UCS Board of Education: (front, l-r) Dr. Robert Ross, Gene Klida, Michele Templeton, Jennifer Prybys (back, l-r) Denyeal Nesovski, Ken Krolczyk and Dr. Mary Thomas.