High schools strike up the bands October 6
High schools strike up the bands October 6
Posted on 09/17/2019
Compilation of photos of all four bands

Best Communities for Music Education LogoAll four Utica Community Schools Marching Bands will be presenting the annual Band-A-Rama at 6 p.m. on Sunday, October 6 at Runkel Field, 39701 Dodge Park Rd.

Band-A-Rama showcases the district’s talented high school musicians in field performances.

“We encourage the entire community to come out and support our award-winning bands with a great night of family entertainment,” Superintendent Dr. Christine Johns said. “Band-A-Rama demonstrates why UCS continues to be nationally recognized as one of the best communities for music education.”

Ticket proceeds benefit the Louis Gonda Memorial Music Scholarship to fund opportunities for UCS Band students to further their music education.  Over the years, the Gonda Fund has enabled hundreds of students to attend music camps, take private lessons or otherwise enrich their music study.

Tickets are $5 for adults and high school students with junior high school and younger students having free admission.

All four high school bands will perform their half-time shows in this order:

  • Henry Ford II Falcon Marching Band – Women Who Rock
  • Utica Chieftain Marching Band -The Greatest Showman
  • Stevenson Titan Marching Band – We Will Rock You! The Music of Queen
  • Eisenhower Marching Eagles – Will Power!

They will begin the night with a combined performance of the Star-Spangled Banner.

The Utica Community Schools music program has been recognized five times as one of the nation’s Best Communities for Music Education by the National Association of Music Merchants. The Best Communities for Music Education designation is awarded to districts that demonstrate outstanding achievement in efforts to provide music access and education to all students.

Photo Cutline - (front row, l-r) Ann Droelle, Katherine Phillips, Gino Sapiano, Dillon Wagner, of Utica High School; Joseph Lockhart, Haley Horton, Nicole Denz, and Daniel Schneider, of Henry Ford II High School; (back row, l-r) Ella Kadets, Dona Jazrawy, Braden Culpert, Emily Maciasz, Kaley Zahuranic, Emilia Serraiocco, of Eisenhower High School, Kole Micakaj, Joshua Zaharof, and Seth Pelkey, of Stevenson High School.