Return to Headlines

Eisenhower Science Olympiad Successfully Defends its First-Place Title

Eisenhower Science OlympiadFor the 4th season in a row, the Eisenhower Science Olympiad team placed 1st overall at the regional tournament which was held on March 18th, competing with high schools from Macomb and St. Clair counties. 

“I am thrilled that we have successfully defended the 1st-place title here in our own region, and I am looking forward to the students proving themselves again among the stiff competition at the state tournament," said head coach Susan Ogden.

Science Olympiad is structured like a track meet, where each team member competes in several events, but not everything.  The competition topics range from Anatomy to Flight and about 20 other topics in between.  Most often students are assigned to events in pairs, and necessarily must demonstrate teamwork to be successful.  In all cases the scientific topics and challenges extend to college-level difficulty.  The students prepare for months, studying, designing, building, and testing, depending on the specific topic area.  Over the course of the season the most dedicated students devote over 100 hours to the team, and that dedication shows in the results.

The team started strong with the most successful recruitment ever, filling the Primary team of 15 students and another 10 students on the Alternate team.  

In February the team attended two practice tournaments, one hosted in the Plymouth-Canton school district and another at the University of Michigan.  The U of M tournament drew top-level competitors from our state as well as from Indiana, Ohio and Wisconsin.  Even against that fierce competition, Eisenhower won awards in Experimental Design, Fermi Questions and Trajectory.

Placing in the top 3 high school teams in the region has qualified Eisenhower to attend the state tournament on April 22 at Michigan State University, where again they hope to make the school proud.

Photo: taken during the team’s visit to the University of Michigan.

Front row (L to R): Cameron Seymour, Daniel Tidrow, Joey Tidrow, Logan Bergler, Hamza Hussein, Jackie Deinek, Logan Duncan, Karina Walker, Seth Bartley, Alex Madhloom, Rohani Khan

Back row (L to R): Gino Guadagnino, Divya Bartley, Justin Loveday, Mason Kirsch, Melanjia Ilijevski, Aashna Moradia, Madelyn Witulski, Riya Panicker, Rachel Jimenez, Sophia Witulski, Bilaal Hussein, Raiha Khan

Not pictured: Julia Myslimaj, Eileen Santana